ScorpioN's Guide to Basic Counter-Strike

whats your strategy?

ScorpioN

Post by ScorpioN » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:31 am

I started playing CS 1.6 a few years ago, really lost and pretty bad not knowing what to do. During my freshman year of college, my roommate was a CAL-M player so he gave me a few pointers that I wish to share with everybody today -

Aiming:
- 2-round bursts to the head with AK/M4, waiting between recoils
- Why 2-round bursts? If you test a 3-round burst of an AK against an empty wall, you'll notice that the first 2 shots are really close together with the 3rd shot recoiling off target. Test this at different distances as well.
- "1-deag," go for that headshot with the deagle! Like the rifles, the deagle needs time to settle on recoil also.
- Do not run and shoot at the same time. Stop to shoot, it reduces recoil.

Strafe-Shoot:
- A technique used in far distance AK/M4 engagements
- Execution of Strafe-Shoot: Initially shoot a 2-round burst (aimed at head), then walk left [A] for 2 steps, then stop immediately with the opposite direction key [D, in this case.] Shoot a 2-round burst from your AK/M4 again. Rinse and repeat, strafing right first this time and stopping immediately.
- On your keyboard it will be as follows: Burst, [A] for 2 steps, then immediately stop with [D], pause for Burst, [D] for 2 steps, then immediately stop with [A], then pause to Burst again.
** This technique is best practiced on an Aim map such as, aim_ak-colt
- Strafing left and right between 2-shot bursts merely allows you not to be a "sitting duck" while waiting for your AK/M4 to settle down from recoil.

Walking Around The Map:
- Walk with your gun pointed at head level, so when you turn a corner u can "pop a cap" and get dat Headshot.
- You can use your teammates at the start of the round to "gauge" where the exact head level is.